Not able to install IIS on WinXP SP2

Problem:
I was trying to Install IIS.
I have Windows XP professional.

When I try to install it using the windows components wizard I get the message "Cannot copy staxmem.dll  Put Windows XP Sp2 in the drive " .

My machine has XP professional factory installed and it has sp2 installed.

 
Solution:
I tried the solution from Microsoft’s:
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=894351

and it didn’t work, probably because the file:
C:\WINDOWS\security\Database\secedit.sdb
was never re-created.

Anyways, I found a solution in google that worked:
esentutl /p %windir%\security\database\secedit.sdb

If you’ve tried the solution from Microsoft, make sure the file
C:\WINDOWS\security\Database\secedit.sdb
was re-created.  If it wasn’t, then hopefully you just renamed yours, so rename it back.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

